Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

City of Manchester


Ajax Loading Image


City Council


The regular meetings of the Manchester City Council are scheduled for the second & fourth Mondays of the month at 5:00pm. Meetings are held at Council Chambers, 204 East Main Street.

Council-Manager Form of Government

The council – manager form of local government combines the strong political leadership of elected officials in the form of a council or other governing body with the strong managerial experience of an appointed local government manager. Approximately 47% of US cities with populations of 5,000 or more have adopted the council – manager form.

The Role of the City Council

The Mayor and City Council members act as the political head of the city. They are responsible for setting policy, approving the budget, determining the tax rate, and formulating broad long-term policies that outline the City’s public function. The manager is appointed by the council to carry out policy and ensure that the entire community is being served. The manager makes policy recommendations to the council, but the council may or may not adopt them and may modify the recommendations. The manager is bound by whatever action the council takes.

City Council Elections

Regular City elections occur every two years. As defined, regular City elections would be those elections for which the Mayor seat or Council member seats are open. The City Council may call a special election for reasons allowed by Iowa State Code. The City Council consists of two “at-large” members, and one member from the first, second and third ward, respectively, who are nominated by eligible electors (a person 18 years of age or older and residing within the City limits of Manchester).

How Do I Run for Office

If you are interested in running for City Council, you may pick up nomination papers from the City Clerk’s Office or the Delaware County Auditor’s Office. You may also contact the City Clerk at 563-927-1113 with any questions.

Ward Map


Connie Behnken

Joe Dittrick
Ward 1 Council Member

Mary Ann Poynor
Ward 2 Council Member

Mayor Pro-Tem

Bill Scherbring
Ward 3 Council Member

Bryan Gray
At-Large Council Member

Linda Schmitt
At-Large Council Member